TABLE OF CONTENTS


The Settings page is accessed from the “edit settings” link in the option bar of the Form Designer. You can also enter this page by rolling over the rows in the Screens Listing screen and clicking the View or Edit Settings option.

Our platform provides a simple versioning and publishing approach to manage your Forms. This means that after creating a new Form, you need to Publish the Form to make it eligible for inclusion in a Folder. Remember that Folders are how you distribute your Forms to your mobile users.

Looking around the Settings screen, on the left you will see the same fields from the Add New screen. These fields work the same way as in the New Form screen with the exception of the Code field, which will be locked after the first time you publish the Form.

When you are looking at a Published or Archived Form, these fields will not be editable. To make changes to the Form you should use the New Version button to create a new draft version of the Form.

On the right, you will see publishing options, status information and version history.

The Publish button will change your Form to a Published status and will make it available to app users (provided the Form is already in a Folder). You can only publish a Form when you have created a Form design using the Edit Design screen.

The Lock button allows you to lock the Form for editing by yourself only. All other web users will be able to view the Form but will not be able to edit the Form until you Unlock it. This is useful if you want to have total control over the release of a Form.

The Trash option only shows for Forms that are in Draft status. Once you hit the Publish button, you will notice that the Trash button is replaced by an Archive button. You cannot trash a Form once it is published; you can only archive it (which removes the Form from all app users).

Once you publish a Form, you will notice that you that a New Version button appears. This allows you to create a new version of the Form and make changes to that version. The Published version remains available to app users and is only replaced once you publish your new version.

When the Do Not Upload property is enabled, drafts are not saved. Instead, the assumption is that the form is being used to update global variables (i.e., save them). For the final upload page in the mobile application, users are not able to alter these buttons (Save, Save and Print). They will both appear though the text is not customizable. You can, however, disable the custom navigation and use action buttons to Save a draft or Upload & Print, although it's not possible to have a button that prints & saves a draft currently. You may, however, save values using our global values feature. When you open the form the next time, it will have the previously-used values populated.

Version History Settings

The "User Can Keep History" property within Basic Settings determines how many days' worth of form entries the user can see for their own device. This is set to 7 days by default. Users are able to view entries previously submitted on their own device by clicking the icon in the upper-left corner of the default start screen. To allow users to also edit these entries and re-submit then, click the checkbox for "Can Edit Completed Entries" in the Advanced Options section. Please note, however, that this latter option is not recommended for revising data; instead, please read our article on the Process Step Workflow.

Customizing Titles of In-Progress Form Entries with Display Row Titles

We provide an option to set the answer of a chosen Form field as the row title in the History and Saved Entries screens of the app. To set this up simply follow these steps:

  1. In the web portal, go to the Settings page of your Form design.
  2. Select the option named "Display Row Title" and simply select the target Form field that you wish to use for the display title of your Form entries. If you don't have a field that provides the desired title text, add a hidden field to your Form design which has a dynamic value formula that concatenates other field answers together to a meaningful title.
  3. Then hit the Save button on the top right to apply your change. This should result in all users seeing the nominated Form field as the title on the app's Saved Entries and History screens.